00352 661 801 200

All Luxembourg legal and bank holidays 2020

In Luxembourg, public holidays are different from their neighbors. To better organize your business, we suggest that you recapitulate these public holidays 2020 and bank non-working days 2020 in order to prepare your events and your schedules. The statutory holidays for the year 2020 have been set by the government of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg.

Legal holidays of the year 2020

In Luxembourg, leave has been set:January 1, 2020 (Wednesday): holiday, New YearApril 13, 2020 (Monday): holiday, Easter MondayMay 1, 2020 (Friday): holiday, May 1May 9, 2020 (Saturday): public holiday, Europe DayMay 21, 2020 (Thursday): holiday, AscensionJune 1, 2020 (Monday): holiday, Whit MondayJune 23, 2020 (Tuesday): holiday, Day of celebration of the Grand Duke's birthdayAugust 15, 2020 (Saturday): public holiday, AssumptionNovember 1, 2020 (Sunday): public holiday, All SaintsDecember 25, 2020 (Friday): holiday, First Christmas dayDecember 26, 2020 (Saturday): holiday, Second day of Christmas

Public and bank holidays 2020 in Luxembourg

Specificity of days off falling on a non-working day

When a public holiday falls on a non-working day, such as Sunday, the law provides that the employer must grant a day of compensatory leave within three months of the public holiday (art. L. 232-3 and art. L. 232-6 (2) of the Labor Code).

Bank holidays 2020

Article 8. IV.A. b) of the collective agreement for bank employees provides for additional holidays:● April 10, 2020 (Friday): public holiday, Good Friday● December 24, 2020 (Thursday): holiday, Christmas Eve (afternoon)

Holidays, vacations and holidays

Importance of information for businesses

Luxembourg companies must monitor holidays from one year to the next in order to measure their economic performance and the likely impact on their turnover. We can assist you in setting up appropriate dashboards to define and analyze your objectives.

You would like more information regarding school holidays and vacations. Do not hesitate to contact us or follow our newsletter where we offer information on business management.